French Football Team: Didier Deschamps Extended to World Cup 2022

Football Sport
The coach of the Blues Didier Decschamps arms raised after the victory against Albania in qualifying for Euro-2020, November 17, 2019 in Tirana.

The announcement must be made official Tuesday 10th December 2019 in the afternoon, but a close source announces that Didier Deschamps is extended as a coach of France

The Executive Committee of the French Football Federation (FFF) unanimously extended the contract of the coach Didier Deschamps until the World Cup in Qatar in 2022 , where the Blues will try to keep their crown, the team learned. Source AFP close to the folder.

The decision concerning the 51-year-old technician, who arrived in the summer of 2012 at the head of the France team and whose contract expired after the Euro-2020, will be made official in the afternoon.

A press conference will be held at 16h at the Paris headquarters of the FFF on the initiative of Christmas Le Graët , president since 2011, and Didier Deschamps, said the Federation.

The Breton leader, faithful to his golden rule, had stated several times that the extension of the contract of the coach, vice-champion of Europe and world champion in title, had to occur once the qualification for the next Championship of Europe validated.

The Blues got their ticket for the Euro-2020 (12th June-12th July) in November. They will face Germany in the group stage, world champion in 2014, the reigning Portuguese European champion, as well as a barrage player whose identity is not yet known.

In a few months, Deschamps will become the French coach with the longest life ahead of Michel Hidalgo, in service for eight years and six months between January 1976 and June 1984.

The list of coaches since the creation of the position in 1964

  • Henri Guérin (April 1964 – June 1966)
  • José Arribas and Jean Snella (September-November 1966)
  • Just Fontaine (March-June 1967)
  • Louis Dugauguez (September 1967 – November 1968)
  • Georges Boulogne (March 1969 – May 1973)
  • Stefan Kovacs (ROM) (August 1973 – November 1975)
  • Michel Hidalgo (March 1976 – June 1984)
  • Henri Michel (October 1984 – October 1988)
  • Michel Platini (November 1988 – June 1992)
  • Gérard Houllier (August 1992 – November 1993)
  • Aimé Jacquet (February 1994 – July 1998)
  • Roger Lemerre (July 1998 – July 2002)
  • Jacques Santini (July 2002 – July 2004)
  • Raymond Domenech (July 2004 – July 2010)
  • Laurent Blanc (July 2010 – July 2012)
  • Didier Deschamps (July 2012 – …)

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *