Drought Alert in the North: 40 New Municipalities Affected by the Restrictions

General News Local News
40 new municipalities in the North are now concerned by the drought alert.

The prefect of the North added Friday 26th July 2019, 40 municipalities to the list of cities in drought alert. This new alert concerns the Yser basin.

285 municipalities are now placed on enhanced drought alert in the North of France. On Friday 26th July 2019, the prefect of the Hauts-de-France decided to add 40 municipalities of the Yser basin to the list

Restrictions on the use of water

This new order completes the one that was taken in April 2019 and strengthened on July 22 following. Involved, persistent rainfall deficits that cause a low level of water in the groundwater.

The enhanced drought alert imposes specific water restrictions on the use of water:

  • For individuals and communities, to prohibit the watering of lawns, green spaces or sports fields, and the filling of family pools, and to limit the watering of vegetable gardens.
  • For industrialists, to aim for a reduction of water consumption of the order of 20%;
  • For farmers, a ban on irrigated crops on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and 
    Sundays between 10 am and 7 pm, and every day at the same hours during periods of heatwave of orange level.

These restrictions, unless otherwise decided by the prefect, are applicable until 30 September next in the municipalities concerned.

Leave a Reply

Notify of