Nasser al-Attiyah Wins the Dakar for the Third Time

Nasser al-Attiyah wins the Dakar for the third time

Qatari Nasser al-Attiyah (Toyota) won his third Dakar on Thursday 17th January, 2019 in Lima, Peru, after his coronations in 2011 and 2015.

Qatari Nasser al-Attiyah (Toyota) won his third Dakar on Thursday 17th January, 2019 in Lima, after his coronations in 2011 and 2015.

Leader of the general at the evening of the first day, al-Attiyah finally leads the Spaniard Nani Roma (Mini) 46 min 42 sec and the French Sebastien Loeb (Peugeot) 1 h 54 min 18 sec.

Well ahead before the 10th and final stage, he just, in Lima, a 12th place 9 minutes from Espagno Carlos Sainz (Mini), defending champion history to ensure a new coronation the first of Toyota.

A perfectly controlled race

Al-Attiyah had already won the wheel of a Volkswagen and a Mini before winning with the Japanese brand.

With three stage wins, “Nasser” dominated the race from start to finish, but above all, he managed to pass between the drops of this Peruvian Dakar. Unlike its main rivals, who were forced to retire (Peterhansel 9 th stage) or fault (Loeb, Sainz, De Villiers …).

Leave a Reply

Notify of