F1 Chinese GP: Lewis Hamilton wins it Alone

Lewis Hamilton won the F1 Chinese Grand Prix, ahead of Vettel and Verstappen.

Lewis Hamilton controlled the race from start to finish in the Chinese Grand Prix. The British racer, started on pole position, was never bothered by its competitors. Sebastian Vettel, winner in Melbourne, took second place and Verstappen, author of a superb recovery, completed the podium. Esteban Ocon first of the French advanced to 10th place and into the points.

Briton Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), winner of the Chinese Grand Prix in Shanghai on Sunday, took revenge on the German Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari), who beat him in the first GP of the season in Australia in late March.

This is the 54th F1 victory for the triple world champion, started on pole position. The Dutchman Max Verstappen (Red Bull), 16th on the grid, made a fantastic comeback to climb on the podium. The two announced rivals this season, Hamilton and Vettel, now share the lead in the drivers with 43 points.

Red Bull has also fourth with Australian Daniel Ricciardo, who was forced to retire before his audience in Melbourne. Follow two Finnish the paddock Kimi Räikkönen (Ferrari) and Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes).

The French Esteban Ocon (Force India), 10th as Melbourne scored the second of his career in the premier class. The other French driver, Romain Grosjean (Haas) is 11th.

Five drivers have not completed this GP, starting with the two McLaren-Honda’s Spaniard Fernando Alonso (transmission) and the Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne (petrol), which multiply the mechanical problems since winter testing.

The Canadian Lance Stroll (Williams), hung by Mexican Sergio Pérez (Force India), ran off track in the first round, ending his race in the gravel.

Then the Italian rookie Antonio Giovinazzi (Sauber) lost control of his car at the line on a wet part of the track, hitting a wall and causing the neutralization of the race with the safety car in the 4th round. 

Russian Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso), finally, is released on a head-to-tail in the 19th round.

Leave a Reply

Notify of